Drivers Must Move Over/Slow Down for TXDOT Work Crews

By TxDot —

September not only brings the start of fall, but also the start of a
new requirement for Texas drivers. The state's Move Over/Slow Down law,
which traditionally has required drivers to yield to police, fire and
emergency vehicles, has now been expanded to provide that same
protection for Texas Department of Transportation workers. Effective
Sept. 1, drivers must move over or slow down when approaching TxDOT
workers and vehicles that are stopped with overhead flashing blue or
amber lights.

“We are very pleased the Legislature recognizes the dangers our
employees face each day while working to maintain and build the state's
vast highway network,” said Phil Wilson, TxDOT's executive director,
noting that more than 100 TxDOT employees working in construction areas
have been struck and killed by motorists since 1938. “We are hopeful
that this new protection for our crews will lead to fewer preventable
deaths and injuries.”

The new addition to the Move Over law requires motorists to move out
of the lane closest to the TxDOT vehicle when possible or reduce their
speed to 20 miles per hour below the posted limit. If the road does not
offer multiple lanes, the driver must slow down. On roadways with posted
speed limits of 25 miles per hour or less, drivers must reduce their
speed to 5 miles per hour. Violators can be fined up to $2,000.

See video at http://vimeo.com/72014100