Two new, one incumbent sworn in as aldermen

Two new and one incumbent city council members were sworn in on Tuesday night by Mayor Glenn Humphries. 

Ryan Martinez and Lyndon McDonald defeated Marcial Gonzales and Pam Young. Nuny Morriss kept his seat.

Long-serving Alderman Mingo Corrales will serve as Mayor Pro-Tem.

Under the Town of Van Horn charter, aldermen are allowed to choose a particular city department to oversee. Alderman Rudy Hinojos will now have oversight of the City Pool while Alderman McDonald will have oversight of the Convention Center.

In other action, the council:
•Approved waiving pool fees on June 2 and June 3 for High School Field Day
•Tabled an item to create a mult-year dog license for citizens who own dogs
•Tabled an item that would create one license for citizens owning more than one dog, such as a dog rescue operation within the city limits
•Approved a discount of $30 per household to help defer the costs of neutering or spaying pets through the mobile pet clinic
•Approved amendment to Ordinance 15-05-380, Title 13, Public Services, and adding Section 13.12.040; City Policy Regarding Water Leaks. The amendment increases the access to reach a water leak between city property and owners’ property by about 18 inches.
•Approved a resolution that addresses city employees who volunteer for emergency services. Under the resolution, city employees who volunteer for EMS or the volunteer fire department may receive up to eight hours of regular pay when a city employee is needed at an emergency scene.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here