Culberson County-Allamoore ISD honors graduates while maintaining social distancing

The Van Horn School Class of 2020 celebrated their commencement at Eagle Field last Friday, June 5. (VHA-Photo/DB)
The Van Horn School Class of 2020 celebrated their commencement at Eagle Field last Friday, June 5. (VHA-Photo/DB)

By Lisa Morton

The Van Horn School Class of 2020 graduation ceremony occurred last Friday after being postponed a week when Superintendent Ken Baugh suspended all school activities pending an employee’s COVID-19 test result. A negative test result was announced late Tuesday, June 2. Plans moved forward for an outdoor ceremony at Eagle Field for the 27 Seniors.

The evening began with a procession of the Class of 2020 onto the football field under very windy conditions. Social distancing was observed both on the field and in the stadium with attending family and guests.

Three seniors earned their Associates Degree in General Studies from Odessa College. The three Seniors receiving their degrees are Annika Corralez, Sophia Navarrette, and Arely Zamudio. In addition, seven Seniors received their Core Completion Certificate for completing 42 semester credit hours. These hours can be transferred in block to any Texas institution and substituted for the receiving institutions’ core curriculum.

Scholarships for the following Seniors were also presented:

Van Horn State Bank ($500): William Ortega.

Robert Morales Memorial Scholarship: $500 Daisy DeLaO, $250 Annika Corralez.

Rotary Club Scholarship ($500 each): Annika Corralez, William Ortega.

Higginbotham Brothers ($1000): Annika Corralez.

Women’s Service League ($1000 each): Jadyn Corrales, William Ortega, Daisy DeLao.

Twentieth Century Club Salutatorian Scholarship ($650): Annika Corralez.

Adrian J. Norman Award of Excellence Scholarship: $2500 Jadyn Corrales; $1000 Cory Schuller; $750 each: Devin Ortega, David Seijas, Aaron Urias, Rudy Estrada, Bubba Virdell, Josh Mendez; $500 each: Martha Carabeo, Fransciso Adame, Annika Corralez.

Mexican American School Board Association ($250): Daisy DeLaO.

Lion’s Club ($500 each): Jadyn Corrales, Daisy DeLaO.

Tyrrell Family Scholarship ($4000 each): Annika Corralez, Jonathan Corralez.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here