City and school district elections loom on the horizon

3 city council, 3 school board seats are up for grabs come May. The filing deadline is February 15.

Politics is again the topic of discussion in Van Horn. While the recent general election served to place folks in county, state, and national offices, it did not put them in other local leadership posts. Elections to select community leaders will occur on May 4.

On that date, local and county voters will elect those to represent us on the Van Horn City Council and Culberson County ISD Board of Trustees.

With respect to the city officer election, candidates have until 5:00 p.m. on February 15 to signal their intentions to seek one of the council spots that will be on the ballot. This year, voters will be called upon to elect three full term (2 year) council members.

The three full-term posts are presently held by Lyndon McDonald, Ryan Martinez, and Nuny Morriss. As of press time, no one has filed their intentions to seek these offices. Candidates for any of these city officer posts must file with the City by the filing deadline.

The School District reports that local voters will elect three trustees in the May school board election. The Trustees posts will be full term (3 year) spots.

Those who presently hold these seats on the school board are Paul Uranga, Romy Ramirez, and Angelica Gonzalez. As of press time, no one has filed their intentions to seek these offices as well. Filings for a place on the ballot for school board must be made at City Hall by the February 15 deadline.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here