Candidate filing deadline nears

May local elections filing window closes tomorrow

Those interested in seeking office for city council, school board, hospital district and groundwater district have until February 18 to file for a place on the May 7 ballot.

Filing for these offices opened on January 19.

The following is a roundup of local positions up for election and as of Wednesday afternoon, those who filed at city hall:

Town of Van Horn— City Council

In the city race, voters will be electing a mayor and two aldermen. Those seats currently belong to Mayor Becky Brewster, Nuny Morriss, and Michael Garibay.

— Filed, Alderman: Nuny Morriss, Michael Garibay.

— Filed, Mayor: Becky Brewster, Duane Corralez.

Culberson County-Allamoore School District— Board of Trustees

In the school board race, voters will be electing four trustees. The seats held by Romy Ramirez, Angie Gonzalez, Michael Baeza, Florencio Bermudez are up for election.

— Filed: Romy Ramirez, Angie Gonzalez, Michael Baeza.

Culberson County Hospital District

Voters will be electing three directors. Edwin Easley, Cheryl Owen, Laura Reyes seats on the Culberson County Hospital District’s board of directors are up for election.

— Filed: Edwin Easley

Culberson County Groundwater Conservation District

The groundwater district has two positions up for election- currently held by Vance Cottrell and Lacey Koehn.

— Filed: No candidates have filed.

Candidate packets can be picked up at city hall for all elections.

Hopefuls must return all applications to be on the ballot to City Hall by 5 p.m. Friday, Feb. 18.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here