VHEDC reorganizes, again

A regular meeting of the recently appointed Economic Development Corporation (VHEDC), by the Town of Van Horn City Council, began with the organization of officers by ballot. Jose Aleman was elected President, Lisa Cottrell, Vice President, Yolanda Urias, Secretary and Mark Isaac Badillo, Treasurer. Other members are Bill Meadows, Dion Corralez, and Gilda Morales (absent from the meeting). Interim City Administrator LeeAnn Gallman was in attendance to answer questions for the Town of Van Horn.

Krissy Lerdal, VHEDC Coordinator and Convention Center and Visitors Bureau Marketing Director, reintroduced herself to the members and gave a brief history of her life and time in Van Horn and relationship with the VHEDC since she was hired a year ago.

Consent Agenda items were approved including the minutes from the January 18, 2023 regular meeting, December and January Financial Statements as submitted by former EDC President Becky Brewster, and the February bills presented were also approved.

The Board conducted a lengthy workshop on the 2023-2024 Budget for the fiscal year starting in April 2023.

Lisa Cottrell responded to concerns from the City Council regarding transparency stating that VHEDC meetings have been recorded and are available on the Town of Van Horn Facebook page and that all Financial Statements were reviewed and approved at every meeting.

Lerdal gave the Coordinator’s Report with the following highlights:

Lerdal will be out of office from February 21-24 attending the TEDC 2023 Legislative Conference.

Provided information regarding the rescheduled Job Fair now set for April 20, 2023.

Gave information to the Board for a recommendation to watch the Webinar on Municipal Development Districts (MDDs) and Economic Development Corporations (EDCs) per YouTube link provided.

Spoke briefly about EDC’s participation in the creation/participation of the Spaceport Development Corporation spearheaded by the City of El Paso and to include a board consisting of their Chamber of Commerce, UTEP, the RGCOG, Culberson County and Van Horn EDC.

Lisa Cottrell provided information to the Board that the sudden actions from the City Council to reappoint new members also halted all financial business with the VHEDC including the corporation’s debit card used by Lerdal. Reimbursements are having to be made to Lerdal pending completion of official bank documents.

Concerning this, the VHEDC adopted a resolution set forth by the Van Horn Bank. A special meeting was called last evening, February 22 at 6 pm so that the 02-15-2023 minutes, including the resolution, could be approved for presentation to the Bank.

The Van Horn Development Corporation is a Type 4B Texas economic development corporation that collects a one-half-cent sales tax off taxable goods purchased in the Town of Van Horn for the purpose of promoting economic development in Van Horn, Texas. The board meets in city hall on the third Wednesday of every month at 6:30 pm. Readers can learn more about the VHEDC by visiting www.vanhorntexas.org.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here