Filing deadline passes, hat’s in ring

The filing deadline for candidates interested in seeking a post on the Town of Van Horn City Council and Culberson County-Allamoore Independent School District Board of Trustees ended last Friday. The election for the at-large seats will be held on Saturday, May 1.

Town of Van Horn— City Council

In the race for city council, seven candidates have filed for three (2-year term) openings on the council. The three members whose terms are up in May include: Lyndon McDonald, Joseph Corrales and Karolyne Carloss.

The seven candidates seeking one of these three positions are as follows: Incumbents Lyndon McDonald, Joseph Corrales; Jesse Outlaw, Ben File, Pam Young, Emilio Yglecias, and Rene Mendoza, Jr.

Culberson County-Allamoore School District— Board of Trustees

In the other contested race on May 1, voter will elect two (3-year term) trustees to the school board. The two trustees whose terms are up include: Jodi Corralez and Eddie Seyffert.

The contest, according city hall, has drawn only one candidate for the two seats— incumbent Jodi Corrales.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here